Pre-Vacation Thoughts

In slightly over 12 hours I will be leaving for a week: Going on vacation. Gods, I am ready for the prep work to be over, and the vacation to actually start. Most of my time the last few days has been spent in preparing for the next week, but I have had a chance to do a little thinking about this journey I am currently on.

My ultimate goal is to reach a goal weight of 225 pounds by December 19, 2012. That is two years, and I think that is a realistic goal. Realistic and healthy; and the whole point of this journey is to reach a state of health.
OK, in a spirit of all honesty, the main goal is to get healthy, but being able to by clothes from a normal store is also a bit of a goal  as well. Oh, and to be able to fit into seats at theaters and concert halls. Those are goals, but the MAIN goal is to get healthy.

So, other than losing a great deal of weight, but are the other things I need to do to get healthy? That is  the question I have been thinking about a lot the last couple of days.

Hold on, there is a mini rant coming: You know, when I finally stand in judgment before my Creator, one of the many questions that Creator, whoever or whatever it is, has to answer for is why the food that is good for you does not taste as good as the food that is bad for you. Another one is why are all the activities that make for good health not as pleasant as the ones that do not lead to health?

OK, rant over; back to the question at hand: what else do I have to do to get healthy?
Obviously I need to start exercising; really exercising, not the penny ante exercising I have been doing. Both with cardio type exercising and conditioning or toning type exercises.
I also need to quit smoking. I think the great FBG smoke out is going to occur on April 16. That is the day after the contest at work ends. Time to pick up another challenge.

And that is all for the night.  I will post again when I get back from vacation.

 

 

 

One Response

  1. Ha! I joke with a friend of mine all the time that there is proof of original sin.

    As you said, most great tasting food is bad for you and most bad tasting food is good for you.

    Statistically this simply isn’t possible. There really should be a pizza tree or a cupcake plant. It just shouldn’t be possible that there isn’t some savory awesome dorito bush. :D

    Have a great time on the vacation.

    I too longed for the days of buying clothes in a normal store. Unfortunately I am still a little big for normal stores and too small for Big & Tall. :D

    So the journey down continues.

    Have a great weekend.

    The Grumpy Man

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

